French Toast

If there’s one thing people know about me, is that I’m not exactly the biggest fan of eggs. They’re fine when I need them to bake, but beyond that, I cannot stomach them just as they are. Personal taste, I suppose. But I do know their nutritional value, so I try to make an effort, and the only way I can gulp them down is if they taste of vanilla and are pan-fried with a lot of butter.

I try to include some fruit when I’m working with butter… to try and make it more healthy? To save my guilt? I don’t know, but fruit seems to go so beautifully anyway, so it’s a bonus. I had some pineapple in the fridge, so I cut them into little cubes and tumbled them across.

It’s a very basic french toast recipe; all I have to do is combine an egg, a dash of milk, a sprinkle of cinnamon, drops of vanilla extract and a spoonful of sugar and I’m good to go. I used regular sliced bread here, but a soft brioche would have turned this into magic. I use a lot of butter, because how else am I supposed to enjoy it if it’s not nice and crispy?

I dusted some icing sugar on top and then decided I wanted it a little bit sweeter. Some honey and more cinnamon mixed together went wonderfully with the cubes of pineapple and the crispy, yet soft french toast. Yum!

Leave a comment